About Us

The mission of Winding Rivers Library System is to promote, plan for, and facilitate library development and cooperation in the seven-county area.

Our History

The Winding Rivers Library System began as the La Crosse Area Library Development in 1965: the product of a demonstration project funded by a federal grant.  At the end of the project in 1970, Juneau, La Crosse and Monroe counties decided to continue the cooperation and formed the La Crosse Area Library System, with the headquarters in La Crosse.  Trempealeau County joined in 1978; Jackson and Buffalo Counties in 1979.  Because of the expanding area of the System, the name was changed in 1978 to Winding Rivers Library System.


Find Us

980 W City Highway 16
West Salem, WI 54669

Phone: (608) 789-7151
Web: wrlsweb.org

Click on the map image below for a printable PDF.

Accessibility Toolbar