The Winding Rivers Library System Board of Trustees is a  twenty-member group with statutory authority to oversee all operations and activities of the system. Trustee terms are for three years, with appointments made by the various county board chairs with approval of the full county boards. Representation for the seven counties in the region is roughly proportional to population, with no county having fewer than two representatives on the system board. Appointees can be local library board trustees, citizens-at-large, or county board supervisors; library staff are not allowed to be on system boards, and no county can have more than one county supervisor on the system board.

If you or someone you know would like to serve on the WRLS board, convey this interest to your county clerk or board chairperson.

Click here to view and download the board’s bylaws.

 Meeting Time/Date/Location and Minutes 

The WRLS Board of Trustees meets at 6:30 pm (unless otherwise noted) on the last Wednesday of odd-numbered months, except for in November (if that ends up being the night before Thanksgiving, then the meeting is the following Wednesday). Meetings take place at the WRLS office in West Salem (with an online hybrid component), but the two summer/fall meetings are usually scheduled in member libraries. For more information, please email

2024 Meeting Dates: February 7 | April 3 | May 29 | July 31 | September 25 | December 4


2024 Meeting Agendas and Minutes

February 7    Agenda    Board minutes
April 3            Agenda     Board minutes
May 29          Agenda     Board minutes
July 31           Agenda     Board minutes
September 25     Agenda    Board minutes
December 4        Agenda    Board minutes


2023 Meeting Dates: January 25 | March 29 | May 31 | July 26 | September 27 | November 29


2023 Meeting Agendas and Minutes:

January 25   Agenda   Board minutes
March 29     Agenda   Board minutes
May 31         Agenda   Board Minutes
July 26          Agenda   Board Minutes
September 27      Agenda   Board Minutes
November 29       Agenda    Board Minutes

2024 WRLS Board of Trustees 


Name Member Type County Affiliation
Ruff, Dwight CO Board Buffalo
Langenfeld, Jane Citizen Buffalo
Zenz, Joan Citizen Jackson
Peloquin, Sarah CO Board Jackson
Thomas, Donna Citizen Juneau
Thomas, Steve CO Board Juneau
Kathy Ivey LPL Board La Crosse
Caulum, Loren Citizen La Crosse
Pohja, Larry LAX Co. Lib. La Crosse
Vacant Citizen La Crosse
Adams, Sue Citizen La Crosse
Bach, Mary  Citizen La Crosse
Larson, Margaret CO Board La Crosse
Johnson, Clara Citizen Monroe
VonRuden, Mary Citizen Monroe
Balz, Adam CO Board Monroe
Severson, Lori CO Board Trempealeau
Pellowski, June Citizen Trempealeau
Henry, Mary CO Board Vernon
Pasker, Peggy Citizen Vernon


Accessibility Toolbar